Yarnivore

Court cases are awful. Almost as uncomfortable as attending court is waiting to attend court. While waiting for the next step I try to boost morality with minor accomplishments to keep up my esteem. Lately I have been knitting up products for the Ladies’ Etsy shop, which lately is full of my products because I can whip stuff up relatively quickly, compared to Bailey’s products which are an investment in time and treasures. Just like writers don’t feel authorized to call themselves authors because they’re not published or famous, it can be hard to brag about a store that has made no sales, but it is a carefully maintained shop nonetheless, and so I will continue to pride in our little store.

In addition to stocking digital ‘display cases’ with arm warmers and such, I made a pair for each of the Girls for when they come home to visit.

 

princess.03
Vancouver Fog

 

In the meantime, I research patterns by making products for myself that I’m not afraid of frogging so I can learn the investment in certain patterns, which birthed my Mermaid Gloves I’ve been wanting for literally years. So far I think this will be the only pair I make in this pattern, but maybe I’ll swoon once it’s actually finished.

mermaid.01
Mermaid Gloves

 

I’ve made several pairs in Vancouver Fog because it’s a versatile pattern that works for many materials in a common weight, and I have memorized the pattern and haven’t tired of it quite yet.

I also adore the Traveling Cable Gloves, though because of the lighter weight they take longer to make compared to Vancouver Fog. They are more elaborate, and the yarn I have in sport weight is also higher quality, which makes up for the effort that goes into them and truly make them shine. I like this Swedish yarn that was purchased for me, made with a bamboo blend and in the color of classic bubble gum.

bubblegum.01
Traveling Cable Hand Warmers

 

I’ve been very blessed in that I pray for quality yarn and then will have large quantities given to me, which would make other yarnivores jealous. I’ve also found a set of knitting needles and DPNs for Gary, since he had asked me to teach him. I have also saved some acrylic yarn for him so I can teach him how to make a cable scarf or Seamus.

Leave a Reply

