The (Little) Enterpreneur

Gary wants to learn how to knit. I think he has this admiration of being able to make something when he watches me struggling with a teething toy I’m working on for Guinevere. Maybe instead it’s that copy-cat thing kids have. “She’s doing it, so I want to do it, too.” Either ways he’s asked if I could teach him how to knit. He’s a nine year old boy, so I’m not sure he has the patience to hold still and carefully insert a needle through a small loop of yarn that already has another needle in it over and over again, especially not if it requires him to count and hold still. But I’m not going to discount his ability, and I bet if I got him off on the right track (chunky yarn and big needles with small projects he’s going to love) he may stick with it. Still, I finally have $14 skeins of yarn and I’m not going to let him touch it. So, under the condition that he has his own materials, I agreed to teach him.

“How much are knitting needles?”

“It depends on what kind you get and from where. You can get them pretty cheap at Walmart. There’s DPNs, which are these, and then you have the regular needles.”

“How much is yarn.”

“It depends. What kind of yarn?”

“Like the one you are using.”

“I got this on sale for four dollars, but it’s usually closer to ten. But if you get a yarn ball this big of acrylic yarn (it’s called a skein) it’s like two, three, maybe four dollars.” He got excited and pulled out a pizza box and colored pencils and drew up a sign so he could sell handmade portraits in the front yard. He usually makes money off his cute face more than anything, but being artistic women the Ladies all pitch in what skills he could use to improve his art.

“I’m going to offer portraits in color or black and white.”

“Do you know how to shade?”

“Not really.”

“Then I would recommend sticking with color, you can’t really sell just an outline.”

“Well, I kinda know how to do shading; Ma’am showed me a little bit.” Ma’am is Alice, that’s a story for another time.

Apparently he wants to make a T-shirt and shorts for the dog. I recommended a smaller project first and explained that the satisfaction of having made something will help him to get through a bigger project. He asked if Seamus was easy to make. I believe that Seamus is easy enough for a boy his age.

If you would like to see the pattern, you should check out my Ravelry account I just started. You can also see the pattern for the toys that are pictured.

Our dog needs a name, be the first to name her in the comments below!

One thought on “The (Little) Enterpreneur

Leave a Reply

