Our Battle

But He knows the way that I take; when He has tested me, I will come forth as gold. -Job 23:10

He’s a father. He’s a husband. He’s a musician. He’s a contractor. He’s a foreman. He’s an attorney. He’s ambitious. He’s my husband. Disclaimer: He’s not my husband by law. We only have one marriage license among us, and to pursue more would be illegal. Being in a legal battle, we have to make sure that our words aren’t misconstrued.

Edward and Alice are pro se– since Bailey and I are considered the ‘other women’ (or girls, as Alice’s mother calls us) we technically are not part of the suit, even though it does pertain to us (which it shouldn’t, because it’s really only supposed to be about the Girls’ well being). Playing attorney has inspired Ed to get involved in politics. The seed of this desire was probably sown when he helped a friend of ours, an ‘underdog’ if you will, get elected as president of student government at our college. More recently he’s wondered aloud about whether he’s meant to go to law school after this. Today he’s changed his mind. In composing his next motion, he’s realized that he instead should get involved in legislature. This way he doesn’t have to invest his time by enrolling in school, and it pertains more to the kind of influence he needs to have for the changes he wants to make in the world.

However, the petitioners (this is Alice’s parents, but they are getting my mother, sister [maybe], Chris, Bailey’s parents and grandfather involved, so I refer to them as well) will consider his desire to be influential as a need for power and control. This is why I don’t understand these people. It is, at least from my perspective, appropriate to want to be something greater. I’m pissed at ‘the system’. For instance, there is no logical reason for us to have ended up where we are. Prejudice is stupid and holds us back from evolving, yet that is the factor that has fueled this feud most. My mother once told me when I was small that each generation was supposed to be an improvement from the last, and I agree. That’s what I’m doing, I am being that improvement, and I will be proud of my children for doing the same. I do believe my morality is superior to these “geezers” (Alice’s choice of words). However, that’s a quality that partly defines a cult (funny enough). I respect Edward for having the drive and ambition to want to make repairs to this system. Really what we are driven to do is ‘defend the weak and the fatherless; uphold the cause of the poor and the oppressed.’ -Psalm 82:3  Is there something wrong with wanting to make a difference? Feels like I’m

d4mned if I do, d4mned if I don’t.

No, I’m not saying that I’m damned to hell if I don’t actively do everything the Bible instructs, please don’t misunderstand.

But I want to be the change I want to see in the world. To me this means opening the doors of opportunity to people who are different. (Besides, what makes them different if they’re still people?) This means getting over our differences so we can battle real issues. As an American, I have the right to the pursuit of happiness, and it is my obligation to defend my right.

I submit that an individual who breaks a law that conscience tells him is unjust, and who willingly accepts the penalty of imprisonment in order to arouse the conscience of the community over its injustice, is in reality expressing the highest respect for the law. -Martin Luther King, Jr.

We have discussed this as a possibility, and we are willing to go to jail because we consider so strongly that our relationship is part of our pursuit of happiness and that we have a right to it. Fortunately our relationship is not illegal, so we don’t have to do time for it. Hopefully it stays this way.

I listen to music to tune out the world so I can better dedicate my attention to what I write. This song accompanied me for this post; please enjoy. Credit due to the musical band Anberlin.

 Religious references used to be offensive to me. I apologize to those who are made uncomfortable with my references, which were included to make a more robust composition.

One thought on “Our Battle

Leave a Reply

